Kenston Forest School held the 53rd commencement Friday, May 31st  in the Kenston Forest School Gymnasium.  Thirty- one seniors received their diplomas from Mr. Charles Butts, President of the Lunenburg-Nottoway Educational Foundation and Mr. Paul Zanowski, Headmaster of KFS.   Nine of the seniors are second or third generation Kavaliers.


Reverend Doctor Peter Smith gave the Invocation.  McKaellen Renee Wilkerson, Historian of the Class of 2019, presented the history of the class. The Salutatory Address, was presented by Rachel Carrington MooreEmily Reagan Hawthorne presented the valedictory address.


Music was provided by the Central of Lunenburg Charger Brass Ensemble directed by Mr. Maurice Ellis.


The guest speaker was H. Randolph Holmes, Jr. – KFS Class of 1975, of Richmond, Virginia.  Mr. Holmes is the President and Senior Principal at Glave and Holmes Architecture in Richmond.  Originally from South Hill, Randy graduated from KFS in 1975, then attended the University of Virginia for both his bachelor and master degrees in architecture.  An award-winning architect, Mr. Holmes has received recognition for many of his designs from professional institutions and magazines including Architectural Digest, the American Institute of Architects, the Institute of Classical Architecture and Art, and American School and University.  He is married to Michaux Gee Holmes and they have three grown children.  


The following students received awards during the graduation ceremony:


Justin Hart Brandon Memorial Award  has been established to recognize a rising senior member of the Class of 2020, selected by the faculty, in hopes that this award will provide the honored student with the incentive to surpass his or her own expectations. The recipient of the 2019 Justin Hart Brandon Memorial award is Jah’Tavious Houston.


The Don and Phyllis Deaton Memorial Award has been established in their honor to continue their legacy of mentoring and encouraging young people.  This scholarship is awarded to a rising senior in hopes that this gift will inspire the recipient to reach his or her greatest potential.  The recipient of the 2019 Don and Phyllis Deaton Memorial Scholarship is Peyton Coleman.


VFW Post 7897 of Blackstone Scholarship in the amount of $250. Rachel Carrington Moore


The dedication and commitment required to obtain an Associate’s degree while in high school is remarkable. Elizabeth Sterling Crowder


The Robert Allen Quicke Sportsmanship Award was established by the Quicke family to recognize a Kenston Forest student who has demonstrated superior sportsmanship. This $500 award was presented  to Samuel Emory Hodges.


The Carl Burton Schwabenton Memorial Scholarship was established by Mr. Schwabenton’s former students to honor his memory and is continued today by the Schwabenton family. This $500 scholarship recognizes a student who has excelled in history, government, and English.  The scholarship recipient is Samantha Jaira Gunn.


Marian Anzolut /Martha Hoefler Memorial Scholarship is a $1000 scholarship awarded to a senior who plans to seek further education beyond high school through vocational school, community college, or a four-year college or university and has shown excellence in the classroom, participated in extracurricular activities, and embodies the Kenston Forest School spirit. The award amount was increased by $250 this year in memory of Katherine Harris Coleburn.  The scholarship recipient is Samantha Jaira Gunn.


Blackstone Rotary Club Scholarship is a part of Rotary International.  Each year, the Blackstone Rotary Club awards a $1000 scholarship to the Kenston Forest student who best exemplifies the Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self.” The recipient of this scholarship is Juniela Mari Perez.


The Headmaster’s Award for Inspirational Leadership was established this year to recognize the member of the graduating class who best personifies the ideals of leadership described by John Quincy Adams: “If your actions cause others to learn more, do more, dream more and become more, you are a leader.” The recipient of this year’s Headmaster’s Award for Inspirational Leadership is Juniela Mari Perez.


The Alumni Association offers a Kenston Forest Alumni Association Scholarship to recognize an outstanding graduating senior who has shown extended interest and service to Kenston Forest School and plans to further his or her education.  The recipient is Matthew Ramsey Norton.


The Adam Bryant Memorial Scholarship was established by the United States Coast Guard Academy Class of 2003 to honor LT Adam Wade Bryant.  The $2003 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who best portrays a dedication to academics, leadership, and a strong commitment to serving in the community. The recipient is Juniela Mari Perez.


The N. Burton Allen Distinguished Graduate Award recognizes the distinguished graduate who is a member of the National Honor Society, best exemplifies the Mission Statement of the school, and who demonstrates great dedication to the students and institution of Kenston Forest School. This distinguished award in the amount of $1500 was given to McKaellen Renee Wilkerson.


Picture Speaker:  Left to Right: 

Paul Zanowski, KFS Headmaster; Lori Bacon, KFS Associate Head of School and Director of College of Counseling; H. Randolph Holmes, Graduation Speaker; Reverend Doctor Peter Smith


Picture Top 3:  Left to Right:

Rachel Carrington Moore, Salutatorian

McKaellen Renee Wilkerson, Historian

Emily Reagan Hawthorne, Valedictorian