The National Honor Society Induction Ceremony took place at Kenston Forest School on Friday, March 29, 2019, in the school’s gymnasium. Students were selected based on their academic achievements and demonstration of strong character, service and leadership within their school and community. Each new inductee was pinned by the teacher whom they felt had made the most significant impact on their academic careers. The following students were inducted:

Santiago Malay-Olano son of Joel and Elizabeth Malay of Burkeville


Julia-Ann Dorothea Baugh daughter of Johnny and Robin Baugh of Kenbridge

Peyton Elizabeth Coleman daughter of Jodie and Charity Coleman of Alberta

Sydney Noelle Harmon daughter of Johnny and Robin Harmon of Blackstone

Haley Brooke Henshaw daughter of Paul and Melissa Henshaw of Church Road

Jah’tavious Littell Houston son of James Houston of Chase City and Joy Baskerville of Meherrin

Haley Alexa King daughter of Denny and Donna King of DeWitt

Madelyn Elizabeth Long daughter of James and April Long of Kenbridge and Ben and Rikki West of Blackstone

Nicholas Joseph Maione son of Joe and Kelly Maione of McKenney

Morgan Elizabeth Morris daughter of Kimberly Morris of South Hill

Kathryn Virginia Shaw daughter of Doug and Janet Shaw of Burkeville

Rachael Gray Tucker daughter of John and Mary Tucker of Dinwiddie

Madison Sierra-Grace Tunnicliff daughter of James Tunnicliff and Karen Frazier of South Hill

The ceremony was led by the current NHS officers: Samantha Gunn, President, Rachel Moore, Vice-President, and Caroline Moore, Treasurer and Merri Scarlett Edens, Secretary. Other NHS members included in the ceremony were:
Sterling Crowder
Emily Hawthorne
Sam Hodges
Echo Li
Jamila Kent
Matthew Norton
Juniela Perez
Morgan Stanley
Lydia Szafranski
Charlotte Walker
Leslie Lu Walker
McKaellen Wilkerson

The NHS Chapter Advisors are Mrs. Lori Bacon and Mrs. Noel Stallard. Mr. Paul Zanwoski, KFS Headmaster, gave opening and closing remarks. A reception for new inductees and their families and friends was held in the Kenston Forest School STEAM Lab after the ceremony.